NEWS

Feb 14 2018

Cheapest Car Insurance in Minnesota, cheap insurance in mn.#Cheap #insurance #in #mn


Cheap insurance in mn

Cheap insurance in mn

Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap insurance in mn

*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheapest Car Insurance in Minnesota

Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes , gets its nickname from the 11,842 lakes within its boundaries. So many bodies of water gives Minnesota its densely forested countryside, prompting the state to preserve over 10 million acres of lush landscape. Fantastic art communities in the Twin Cities, wilderness camping grounds scattered throughout and lakes brimming with boats of all sizes make Minnesota a hot spot for tourists all through the year. With all the sight-seeing traffic, CheapCarInsurance.net wants to keep Minnesota s roads safe. This list of useful state car insurance information will help the Minnesota drivers stay protected while enjoying the sights and sounds of their state.

LAWS REGULATIONS

With hot summers and cold winters, Minnesota s seasons change dramatically. Insurance laws and regulations can be much the same way, and this list of important Minnesota car facts can help keep out in front of the change.

Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Minnesota

  • To operate a vehicle in Minnesota, a driver must carry liability, personal injury protection, uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage.
  • Liability Coverage minimums:
    • $30,000 per individual to cover bodily injury or death.
    • $60,000 per accident involving bodily injuries or deaths.
    • $10,000 for property damage.
  • Personal Injury Protection minimums:
    • $40,000 per person
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists minimums:
    • $25,000 per person
    • $50,000 per accident involving multiple parties

Failure to maintain proper insurance can result in fines and vehicle impounds.

New Driver Licensing Requirements:

  • All drivers in Minnesota must have a valid drivers license to operate a vehicle in the state. Drivers new to Minnesota who hold a valid out-of-state license must pass the vision and knowledge tests to obtain a state license. New drivers 18 years of age and over must pass the vision and knowledge tests, obtain an instructional permit and pass the road test.
  • If a new driver is under the age of 18, he/she must participate in the Graduated Driver s License Program (GDL). Outlined in the Minnesota Driver s Manual, this program allows the minor to practice driving prior to applying for a full license. The GDL consists of an Instruction Permit and a Provisional License prior to the Regular Class D License:
    • Instruction Permit. This permit is valid for 2 years, and the applicant must be at least 15 years of age. During this phase, the following applies:
      • Complete 30 hours of Driver Education classroom and driving instruction. 10 of these hours must include night driving. This requirement does not apply to applicants 18 and older.
      • Pass the vision and knowledge tests
      • If under 18, applicant must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 18 or older
      • All occupants of the applicant s vehicle must wear seat belts
      • Hold the permit for at least 6 months
    • Provisional License To apply for the provisional license, the applicant must be at least 16 years of age and have completed the Permit Phase. The following applies in this stage:
      • Pass the road test
      • Cell phone use is prohibited
      • During the first 6 months, the applicant may not carry any passengers under the age of 20 and may not drive between 12 am and 5 am unless:
        • accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older
        • driving between home, work and/or school
      • During the second 6 months, no more than 3 passengers under the age of 20 may accompany the driver.
      • The applicant must hold the license for at least 12 consecutive months.
  • Regular Class D License. To hold a Class D License, the applicant must complete the previous phases, and the following applies:
    • Must be at least 18 years of age
    • Must maintain a clean driving record
  • Vision Exam. To hold an unrestricted license, an applicant s visual acuity must be at least 20/40, and they must have a peripheral of at least 105 degrees.
  • Knowledge Test. The knowledge test is an evaluation of the applicant s understanding of basic traffic regulations, laws, signs and procedures. Information included in the test can be found in the Minnesota driver s manual. Upon failing the test, the applicant must wait until the following day to re-take the test.
  • Road Skills Test. The Minnesota Driver s Manual lists the equipment standards for the vehicle used in the road test. The vehicle must be insured and registered. If the applicant fails 2 road tests, a fee of $20 is charged for each subsequent test. The test administrator will have the applicant perform a variety of tasks including safety equipment demonstration, vehicle control and driving performance. Lists for the items included in the vehicle inspection and for the required maneuvers/knowledge to pass the driving test are included in the driver s manual.
  • Fees. A new driver s license has a $25 fee, and an instruction permit has a $14.25 fee.

DUI/DWI Laws

  • BAC limit: .08 Minnesota s Department of Public Safety provides the following minimum penalties for DUI convictions in the state:
  • First Offense misdemeanor:
    • Fine: $1,000 and/or
    • Jail: 90 days
    • License suspension: 90 days. Driver may choose one of the following:
      • 15 days without driving privileges and restriction for the remainder of the 90 days, or
      • Full driving privileges remain with the use of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • Second Offense misdemeanor:
    • Fine: $1,000 and/or
    • Jail: 90 days
    • License revocation: 1 year. Driver may choose:
      • 1 year without driving privileges, or
      • 1 year with the use of an IID
    • License plates impounded
  • Third Offense gross misdemeanor:
    • Fine: $3,000 and/or
    • Jail: 1 year
    • Vehicle forfeiture
    • Drivers license cancelled
    • IID for minimum 3 years
    • License plates impounded

Fourth and subsequent DUI offenses are charged with a felony. DUI offenses including higher BAC levels, injury collisions and/or minor passengers receive much stricter penalties upon conviction.

Texting Driving Laws

Distraction.gov states that Minnesota law prohibits novice and bus drivers from using handheld or hands-free cell phones. Also, texting is banned for all drivers.

Unique Laws

Minnesota cares for its animals, and nothing proves this better than some of its animal-conscious laws. For instance, elephants may not be parked on Main Street in the city of Virginia. Animals may not sleep in bakeries, and, in International Falls, it is illegal for a cat to chase a dog up a telephone pole!

STATS

Best Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Minnesota

Hennepin County Car Insurance

The largest county in Minnesota by population, Hennepin County is also the state s wealthiest. The county seat and largest city in the state, for that matter, is Minneapolis, site of the Festival of Nations each May. Its major economic centers are in Minneapolis and Bloomington, the fourth largest city in the state, only 10 miles from Minneapolis.


Written by admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *